National White Rose

The first National Rose of Sigma Tau Gamma was chosen in 1940 but became an annual award in 1952. Now, the $500 National White Rose Scholarship goes to one chapter’s current White Rose who has made positive contributions to the chapter and best embodies the ideals and principles of Sigma Tau Gamma.

Each chapter may nominate one White Rose. The applicant should be nominated by the chapter but self-nominations are accepted. Three finalists will be selected from nominees and notified by Headquarters Staff. Finalists are highly encouraged to attend the Fraternity’s summer conference where the National White Rose will be determined by conference attendees.

There have been four individuals bestowed the National White Rose title after their collegiate career. Mrs. Maurine Reynolds Achauer was crowned in 1972 for her tireless work with the Alpha Chapter and 101 Ming Street and Mary Cunningham was crowned in 1984 for her national efforts. At the Ribbon Cutting Ceremony for the Headquarters in Indianapolis, Vanessa Ryan, Alpha Gamma Delta, and Amanda Clark, were both pinned as National White Rose Sweethearts in 2018 for their efforts and dedication to the Headquarters building at 8741 Founders Road.

2018 Addison Crowder, Alabama
2017 Abigail Greenberg, Alabama
2016 Jamie Yust, Central Missouri
2014 Vanessa Kern, Southern Indiana
2013 Lisa M Rheineck, UW – Stout
2012 Kristee Elliott, SIU – Edwardsville
2010 Kara Fox, Central Missouri
2008 Jennifer Nicole Williams, Central Arkansas
2003 Linzi Davasher, Central Arkansas
2002 Melissa Swaim, Central Arkansas
2001 Sara Churchill, Illinois
2000 Ashley Ryan Hernadez, Central Missouri
1999 Kerry Lynn Fleming, Nebraska at Kearney
1998 Rose Hassanabad, Central Missouri
1997 Heather Aspen Ezell, Central Arkansas
1996 Amy VanOosten, Western Illinois
1995 Nicole Shine, Truman State
1994 Corey Ann Whorton, Fairmont State
1993 Sherri Lynn Tidwell, Central Arkansas
1992 Janet Denise Trostle, Central Oklahoma
1991 Barbara Lynn Krudop, Truman State
1990 Kathleen Ellis, Central Arkansas
1989 Josette C. Atteberry, Emporia State
1988 Vita Margaret Barre, Central Arkansas
1987 Lori Scacco, Illinois State
1986 Nancy Grossman, Black Hills
1985 Amy Anderson, Illinois
1984 Tonja Pitzer, Southern Indiana
1983 Melanie C. Ray, Texas State
1982 Carolyn Lindsey, Central Oklahoma
1981 Patricia O’Connor Rumpf, Cleveland State
1980 Debra Kay Waddle, Central Arkansas
1979 Tamara Lynn Hunt, Emporia State
1978 Dannette McNew, Baylor
1977 Pamela J. McVay, Southeastern Oklahoma
1976 Connie D. Stump, UW – Platteville
1975 Peggy Bullis, UW – Eau Claire
1974 Cathy Ann Walters, Central Oklahoma
1973 Tanya Parnell, Truman State
1972 Marilyn Morgan, Central Arkansas
1971 Sharon Little, Central Oklahoma
1970 Roselyn Bakkum, MSU – Moorhead
1969 Donna Bailey, Concord
1968 Georgia Lynn Miller, UW – Oshkosh
1967 Marsha Hodakievic, Cleveland State
1966 Catherine Lynn Smith, East Central
1953 Barbara Jean Hewitt, SUNY Oswego
1952 Mary Elizabeth Shroyer, Fairmont State
1940 Lucile Evatt, Central Arkansas