Scholarships & Grants

The Sigma Tau Gamma Foundation provides thousands of dollars in scholarships and grants to members, chapters, and national Fraternity programs each year. For many brothers, our support means another semester; others it means the lifeline to reach graduation. Below you can find information on many of the gifts the Foundation makes and, if applicable, learn how to access Foundation funds.

Fraternity Leadership Grants

The Sigma Tau Gamma Foundation provides thousands of dollars through Chapter Endowments in leadership grants to attend National leadership programs each year to many chapters.

Interfraternal Leadership Grants

Chapter members may apply to use Chapter Endowment grants to attend Greek Leadership Conferences. These programs place members of Sigma Tau Gamma with members of other fraternities in an exciting and educational environment with inspiring outcomes. Members must be accepted to attend by the NIC to apply for leadership grants.

Chapter Scholarships

Individual chapters may use Chapter Endowments to raise money for leadership program grants, but also provide academic scholarships to members of their chapter. Investments in chapter endowments will only be used to support members of that specific chapter.

Ellsworth C. Dent “Man of the Year” Award

Each year, ten outstanding graduates are recognized nationally. From the ten, one is selected by the Society of Seventeen as the “Man of the Year,” the highest honor for an undergraduate member of the Fraternity. The “Man of the Year” receives a $1,000 honorarium.

Principle Awards

In June 2017, Sigma Tau Gamma introduced six new awards; earning their namesake after our six Principles. These new awards are based on our six principles; Learning, Integrity, Excellence, Leadership, Citizenship, and Brotherhood. For each of these awards, we are seeking someone who exemplifies the qualities of the specific Principle in their everyday life. To be considered for an award, the nominee must be either an undergraduate member of Sig Tau or an alumnus who is in good standing with their chapter. Each award application includes a few specific questions, which include the nominees’ scholastic achievements, contributions, and involvement in the chapter and on campus, and describing the learning habits of the nominee and the ways in which the nominee excels both inside and outside of the classroom. Each Principle Award recipient receives a $500 scholarship.

Michael J. Steinbeck Fellowship

The Michael J. Steinbeck Fellowship was initiated in 1987 by Marvin Millsap. Recipients of the Michael J. Steinbeck Fellowship are selected by the Society of Seventeen and recognized each year at the national meeting. The purpose of the Fellowships to assist talented young brothers, firmly committed to the ideals of Sigma Tau Gamma, with the pursuit of graduate and professional degrees.

Musial/Hillman Sportsmanship Award

The Stan Musial/Eric Hillman Sportsmanship Award is presented annually to a member of Sigma Tau Gamma who has participated in varsity or intercollegiate athletics at his college or university and who most typifies the traits of athletic performance, scholastic achievement, leadership, and service to the applicant’s college and local community as demonstrated by Stan Musial and Eric Hillman.

Earl A. Webb Academy of Principled Leaders

Newly elected chapter officers gather annually at the Webb Academy with our National President to mutually explore the challenges and opportunities in our Sigma Tau Gamma chapters. Most of the cost of participation in the Academy, including travel, lodging, meals, and program, is paid by a grant from the Sigma Tau Gamma Foundation. The philosophy is that no chapter, regardless of financial circumstance, should be denied this critical opportunity.