National Boards

From the beginning, extraordinary men have led Sigma Tau Gamma. Because of that leadership, we have prospered in good times and persevered during difficult ones.

In this section of our website, you will learn about the men and women helping to lead to establishing the vision for our future, guide us towards our centennial and lead our day-to-day operations.

Headquarters Staff

The Chief Executive Officer is the chief executive of the Fraternity, Foundation, and WPN Housing Company. The Chief Executive Officer has both delegated authority from the Board of Directors and direct authority from the Fraternity Constitution and Laws. All other employees of Headquarters work for and are responsible to the Chief Executive Officer.

Fraternity Board of Directors

Sigma Tau Gamma Fraternity is a Missouri not-for-profit corporation qualified as a federal tax-exempt organization under IRS section 501(c)(7). The governance of the Fraternity is vested in the Grand Conclave. It is comprised of elected delegates from the college chapters and recognized alumni associations.

The Board of Directors is charged with governing the Fraternity between meetings of the Grand Conclave. The eight members of the Board of Directors, including the President of the Fraternity, are alumni volunteers. They serve not only without compensation but also often at a considerable personal expense. The Board of Directors set policy, ensures completion of the Fraternity’s strategic plan, adopts the budget, authorizes the addition of new chapters, and employs the Chief Executive Officer.

National Presidents

In 1925, Founder Emmett Ellis became the fraternity’s first national president—a distinction held by only 39 men since. Today’s presidents serve two-year terms and are assisted by seven national officers that make up the Board of Directors.

Chapter Executive Cabinet

In 2017, the Fraternity introduce a new chapter governance structure. For decades, the fraternity operated using only one model. Today, there are three models – Fisher Cabinet Model (30-50 members), Hoffman Cabinet Model (51-75 members), and the Salter Cabinet Model (75+ members). The expectation is for all chapters to have a minimum of 30 members. The chapter will now choose the operation model that best works for them and their campus. Chapters will identify on their McCune Report which model they follow to be considered for awards.

Chapter Standards Board

In 2016, the Fraternity retired the term Judicial Board and introduced the Standards Board Model. The concept is for our men to be proactive in addressing behavior and academic concerns and to not just address them after something has occurred. The Standards Board also handles chapter and member issues and is considered the judicial branch of the chapter. The Standards Board consists of a Chairman who is elected by the chapter. The Chairman then appoints the members of the Standards Board who are approved by the Chapter’s Executive Cabinet.