Endeavor Minneapolis Recap

Published on June 27, 2017 in News, Press Releases

Sigma Tau Gamma’s Endeavor Conference took place in Minneapolis, Minnesota June 22-24 of 2017. During this time, 300 plus alumni, undergraduates, and guests from around the country gathered together. Members participated in educational tracks where they gained valuable skills that they can take back to their chapters and use in their future professional careers.  Many deserving chapters and individuals were also recognized during the Chapter Recognition Dinner and the Chain of Honor Awards Gala. Lastly, the Sigma Tau Gamma Foundation saw great success with the 97th Founders Day Challenge, Azure and White Giving Club, and Noble Man Accolades.

Highlights from the Conference:

Kick- Off & Welcome Sessions
Endeavor Minneapolis kicked off with the Keynote Speaker, Sailesh Jiawan. The energy in the room was high as Sailesh led everyone in ice-breaker games. Members met brothers from other chapters, joined their small groups, and began their educational tracks. 

Chapter Recognition Dinner
Endeavor day one concluded with State Fair themed dinner sponsored by the Sig Tau Foundation.  At the Chapter Recognition Dinner, many chapters were recognized for their achievements. Below are the awards that were presented at the Chapter Recognition Dinner.

Thomas Hutsell Chapter Efficiency Award

  • Large IFC Community: Auburn University, Epsilon Chi Chapter
  • Medium IFC Community: Missouri State University, Omega Associate Chapter
  • Small IFC Community: Youngstown State University, Beta Gamma Chapter

Kennedy Whitesitt Communication Award

  • Large IFC Community: Purdue University, Beta Theta Chapter
  • Medium IFC Community: Michigan Technological University, Gamma Chi Chapter
  • Small IFC Community: University of Central Missouri, Alpha Chapter

W.T. Hembree Campus Leadership Award

  • Large IFC Community: Purdue University, Beta Theta Chapter
  • Medium IFC Community: Western Michigan University, Chi Associate Chapter
  • Small IFC Community: Northwest Missouri State University, Theta Chapter

Emmett Ellis Chapter Scholarship Award

  • Large IFC Community: University of Alabama, Epsilon Phi Chapter
  • Medium IFC Community: Michigan Technological University, Gamma Chi Chapter and University of Missouri, Beta Alpha Chapter
  • Small IFC Community: Lindenwood University-Belleville, Zeta Nu Associate Chapter

Robert Nagel Jones Charitable Projects Award

  • Large IFC Community: Arizona State University, Zeta Alpha Chapter
  • Medium IFC Community: SUNY-Plattsburgh, Epsilon Lambda Chapter
  • Small IFC Community: University of Missouri – St. Louis, Gamma Theta Chapter and William Woods University, Zeta Mu Chapter

Earl A. Webb Most Improved Chapter Award

  • Large IFC Community: Virginia Polytechnic Institute, Epsilon Upsilon Chapter
  • Medium IFC Community: Central Michigan University, Psi Chapter
  • Small IFC Community: University at Buffalo- SUNY, Epsilon Pi Chapter

The Endeavor Track
Undergraduates members in the Endeavor Track participated in education programs. Topics of the track included masculinity, what it means to truly be a noble man of Sig Tau, how to successfully collaborate, thinking inside the box, and resiliency and confidence.

The Pre-Grad Track
Undergraduate and recently graduated members participated in the Pre-Grad track curriculum. These men covered topics including interview tips, résumé building, and professional development.

Target Field Tour and Dinner
On Friday evening of Endeavor Minneapolis, attendees were able to tour Target Field, the home of the Minnesota Twins. They had the opportunity to explore parts of the ballpark that most guests don’t get to experience. Attendees concluded the tour with a ballpark-themed meal.

Eternal Light Ceremony
On the morning of the last day of the conference, we honored our brothers who have entered Chapter Eternal with the Eternal Light Ceremony. HQ Staff and members of the Society of Seventeen led attendees in the ceremony.

The Sigma Tau Gamma Foundation
The Sigma Tau Gamma Foundation saw great success at Endeavor Minneapolis. Throughout the conference, the Foundation raised funds to support our chapters. Sixty-one members joined the Azure and White Giving Club, and hundreds of Noble Man Accolades were sold. This was made possible by generous donations of alumni, undergraduate members, and guests.

Chain of Honor Awards Gala
To conclude Endeavor Minneapolis, members and guests gathered together to celebrate and recognize outstanding brothers and chapter achievement. Below are the awards presented during the Gala.

2017 Hall of Fame Inductees:

  • Brandon Bishop, Arizona State ’14
  • Nick Cota, Winona State ’13
  • Brock Edwards, Southern Indiana ’13
  • Alex Maggard, Kansas State ’14
  • Tyler Misuraca, Central Missouri ’12
  • Joshua Moore, Purdue ’14
  • Dan Robinson, Duquesne ’14
  • Jacob Schriner-Briggs, Youngstown State ’13
  • David Solon, Alabama ’14
  • Preston Wolfe, William Woods ’15

2017 Ellsworth C. Dent Man of The Year: Joshua Moore, Purdue ‘14

Other Awards:

  • Stan Musial/Eric Hillman Sportsmanship Award: Phil Kulpinski, William Woods ’15
  • Christopher J. Mauer Man-Mile Award: Monmouth University
  • Young Alumni Achievement Award: Mathew Rea, PhD., St. Louis ’04
  • Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award: Paul McMillen, Mansfield ’66
  • Michael J. Steinbeck Fellowship: Charles Baummann, Missouri ’15; Sam Tucker, Alabama ’14
  • National White Rose Scholarship: Abigail Greenberg, Delta Delta Delta
  • Principle of Learning Award: Emerson Lyons, Salisbury ’14
  • Principle of Integrity Award: David Armbruster, Purdue ’16
  • Principle of Excellence Award: Dan Robinson, Duquesne ’14
  • Principle of Leadership Award: Austin Koster, Truman State ’15
  • Principle of Citizenship Award: Sam Tucker, Alabama ’14
  • Principle of Brotherhood Award: Mason Millstone, Truman State ’15

Edward H. McCune Distinguished Chapter Award:

  • Small IFC Community: University of Southern Indiana, Gamma Phi Chapter
  • Medium IFC Community: Missouri State University, Omega Chapter
  • Large IFC Community: Purdue University, Beta Theta Chapter



Founded in Warrensburg, Missouri at the University of Central Missouri. On June 28, 2020, the fraternity will commemorate its 100th Anniversary. Today, there are more than 2,500 undergraduate members on 76 college/university campuses in 30 states. There are 60,391 living alumni. The Fraternity is headquartered 60 miles east of downtown Kansas City in Warrensburg, Missouri. Additional information about the fraternity is available at https://sigtau.org/.