Alabama Provisional Chapter Installed

Published on November 5, 2012 in News, Press Releases

On Saturday, October 20, Sigma Tau Gamma conducted the Ceremony of Installation at the University of Alabama. The University of Alabama provisional chapter welcomed about 100 family, friends, and students to watch the ceremony. This is the first time Sigma Tau Gamma has had a provisional chapter at the University of Alabama.

Paul Manly and Derek Kaimann, Sigma Tau Gamma Expansion Counselors, spent almost two months on the Alabama campus this fall recruiting 75 men to become the Founding Fathers of the provisional chapter.  Michael Smoll, Director of Expansion and Woody Woodcock from Phired Up Productions joined them to help with recruitment efforts.

Expansion Counselors Derek and Paul did an exceptional job over the last eight weeks recruiting some of the top men on campus to start the provisional chapter,” said Smoll. “These men are very impressive and I am looking forward to seeing what they accomplish as they work towards chartering.

The Ceremony of Installation was lead by the Installation Team“ Tom Morgan, Mark Mauer, Seth Woodall, Michael Smoll, Phillip Jeanfreau, Derek Kaimann, and Paul Manly. During the ceremony, 37th National President Tom Morgan gave an inspirational speech to the men about lifetime friendships and connections that Sigma Tau Gamma provides. Brother Morgan also presented Brother Jeanfreau with his WCMF after he donated to the Alabama Heritage Fund. Brother Jeanfreau, along with Brother Mauer will be serving the Alabama Provisional Chapter as their mentors. After the Ceremony of Installation and lunch with their guest, the men went through the Ritual of Initiation.

It was a very exciting day for Sigma Tau Gamma and the men who had accepted the challenge of starting a new provisional chapter at the University of Alabama,” said Brother Smoll. “The show of support from all the family and friends who attended the Ceremony of Installation was tremendous.

Installation Team Paul Manly, Mark Mauer, Michael Smoll, Tom Morgan, Derek Kaimann, Phillip Jeanfreau, and Seth Woodall