Christopher J. Mauer Man-Mile Award

mauerThe Man-Mile Award has been an award for almost 40 years, but it has never had a name. On June 9, 2008, the Fraternity Board of Directors voted to name it in honor of Past President Chris Mauer. The award given is calculated by multiplying the number of undergraduate members registered and participated in a national meeting by the number of miles from the chapter’s campus to the meeting location.

This posthumous honor remains especially appropriate for Brother Mauer because recruiting brothers to attend meetings was his passion and in essence a part-time job for him. In the months before national meetings, he worked in full force to contact and visit as many chapters as possible.  During those visits and phone calls, he told of the “Brotherhood Experience” that shouldn’t be missed! He lived for this interaction with members and loved to teach others about his experience in Sig Tau.

Youngstown State University, Beta Gamma
Monmouth University, Epsilon Omicron
University of Southern Indiana, Gamma Phi [2016, 2015]
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, Epsilon Sigma [2014]
Salisbury University, Epsilon Rho [2013]
University of Central Oklahoma, Beta Zeta [2012]
East Carolina University, Delta Alpha [2011]
Truman State University, Beta [2010]
University of Wisconsin – La Crosse [2009, 2008]
University of Massachusetts Lowell, Epsilon Delta [2008]