Edward H. McCune Distinguished Chapter Award


The McCune Distinguished Chapter Award is named in honor of Edward H. McCune, Central Missouri ’20. Dr. McCune was a Founder and our fourth National President, as well as a physiologist and scholar of history. He maintained life-long involvement in Sig Tau and was the author of the Creed and the Code of Conduct.

The Edward H. McCune Distinguished Chapter Award recognizes the premier chapters in Sig Tau. It was first presented in 1966 at the 22nd Grand Conclave. Originally, the award was given to just one chapter, but beginning in 1967 four other chapters were also recognized as the “runners-up” for the prestigious award.

Early chapter winners were selected by applications and judged by a panel appointed by the Fraternity Board of Directors. The applicants documented how their chapter successfully pursued the Principles of Sig Tau.

The award is now judged by the McCune Metrics Scorecard. Using a point-based scale, the scorecard measures chapter performance in academics, finance & operations, recruitment, education & wellness, campus engagement, and community engagement.

Today, the three top-scoring chapters, in predetermined size categories, are recognized as the Edward H. McCune Distinguished Chapters.

University of Alabama, Epsilon Phi [2023]
Youngstown State University, Beta Gamma [2019]
University of Colorado Boulder, Zeta Psi [2020]
Carroll University, Zeta Phi [2020]
Youngstown State University, Beta Gamma [2019]
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Epsilon Upsilon [2019]
Henderson State University, Alpha Epsilon [2018]
University of Arizona, Zeta Pi [2018]
Purdue University, Beta Theta [2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2014]
Missouri State University, Omega [2017]
University of Southern Indiana, Gamma Phi [2023, 2017, 2013, 1983]
University of North Carolina at Charlotte, Epsilon Tau [2023, 2016]
Emporia State University, Delta [2016, 2012, 2006, 1997, 1995, 1977]
Northwest Missouri State University, Theta [2015]
Southeast Missouri State University, Alpha Phi [2011]
University of Wisconsin – La Crosse, Beta Kappa [2010, 2009, 2008]
Truman State University, Beta [2007, 2003, 2001, 2000, 1999, 1996, 1994, 1993, 1992, 1990, 1980, 1979, 1973]
University of Central Missouri, Alpha [2005]
Duquesne University, Delta Beta [2004]
Western Illinois University, Alpha Delta [2002]
University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign, Alpha Chi [1998]
Illinois State University, Gamma Psi [1991, 1987, 1985, 1982, 1978]
Carnegie Mellon University, Delta Xi [1989]
Stephen F. Austin State University, Gamma Pi [1988]
Michigan Technological University, Gamma Chi [2020, 1986]
University of Central Arkansas, Sigma [1984, 1981, 1971, 1975, 1968]
Minot State University, Gamma Delta [1976, 1969]
Northeastern State University, Zeta [1974]
University of Wisconsin – Platteville, Gamma Xi [1972]
University of Wisconsin – Stout, Alpha Kappa [1970]
St. Cloud State University, Beta Sigma [1967]
University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh, Beta Mu [1966]